Computer Repair

CRMC - 5 Day Trial
 
Off Topic Threads that don't fit in with any other category go here

Reply
  #11  
Old 05-24-2012, 02:17 AM
popeye67's Avatar
popeye67 popeye67 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North west England, just follow the smell of curry.
Posts: 6,038
Default

and avast is picking it up apparently see if williams on tomorrow ive emailed him

anyone whos worried about getting malware can join facebook and add me as a friend, will come in useful if forum is down for any reason and we can all freind each other

Peter gwynant thomas or byoit has a facebook page we can all go on


__________________
Q6600-P5K Premium+Alphacool w/blocks
EVGA 8800gt+Koolance w/block
Samsung f1 raid0 +f2 hard drives
Enermax infinity 650w

Popeye67's Blog

Last edited by popeye67; 05-24-2012 at 02:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-25-2012, 12:30 AM
MElawe MElawe is offline
Restored Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 169
Default

I got the message as well. :/ Not good to get it from this site(actually its the forum only). I'm not scared of getting malware(they are rather fun), but I don't want to see this one go down.

Pop, I will send you a friend request, from Bagos.

Sry img is a bit big. I'll try to resize it.

Edit[hr]

I bet you guys can't tell it isn't a real screen grab.



Orig image: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/67156862/be%...20own%20it.bmp

-Mel



Last edited by MElawe; 05-25-2012 at 01:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-06-2012, 03:41 AM
William's Avatar
William William is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 2,030
Default

Final update on the malware attack page:

We had been compromised and a small script had been injected into the site.

In the end, it affected 44 pages out of several thousand.

We have cleared it and Google has given us a clean bill of health. The page wasn't serving malware, what it was doing was redirecting those 44 pages to a site with known attack vectors. If your antivirus or OS was out of date or had a vulnerability in it, being redirected to those pages could have put you at risk.

If anyone finds themselves infected with malware I suggest you post it in the correct forum, so we can get down to the business of helping you clean it off.

Thanks everyone and sorry for the trouble.

-Will


__________________
William
Bizlab, Inc
www.bizlab.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-06-2012, 11:03 AM
popeye67's Avatar
popeye67 popeye67 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North west England, just follow the smell of curry.
Posts: 6,038
Default

Cheers William, we would have been lost without you.


__________________
Q6600-P5K Premium+Alphacool w/blocks
EVGA 8800gt+Koolance w/block
Samsung f1 raid0 +f2 hard drives
Enermax infinity 650w

Popeye67's Blog
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-06-2012, 11:41 AM
sandra's Avatar
sandra sandra is offline
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Scotland
Posts: 616
Default

Fully concur with Popeye's sentiments. Thank you.


Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-06-2012, 03:09 PM
sandra's Avatar
sandra sandra is offline
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Scotland
Posts: 616
Default

And a great big thank you to Popeye for providing us with an alternative hang-out while William got the problem sorted - well done and thank you Popeye


Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-06-2012, 03:52 PM
Rob's Avatar
Rob Rob is offline
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 504
Default

Although I did not experience this attack warning, I am glad it is all cleared up.


__________________
Saepe Expertus;
Semper Fidelis;
Frates Aeterni
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-06-2012, 03:59 PM
daisymae70's Avatar
daisymae70 daisymae70 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: IOWA
Posts: 2,249
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandra View Post
And a great big thank you to Popeye for providing us with an alternative hang-out while William got the problem sorted - well done and thank you Popeye
I second that. What everyone didn't know is that when Will first laid out the whole problem a couple of days ago and made a suggestion for us to go back into the members list and look for anything suspicious, any suspicious link that might be hanging out in someones signature or avatar or post Pete didn't skip a beat. He dove right into the search. We have over 1000 members but tried to narrow the search down to the last 90 days. Last word from Will is he would have never found it. But it has all been resolved now and the forum is on it's way again. Just so everyone knows, Pete was the determined one. He believes in the importance of this forum and was not going to let it stay messed up if he had anything to say about it or could do anything about it.


__________________
The Truth is the Truth whether you believe it or not.


READ YOUR COMPUTER'S WARRANTY BEFORE ATTEMPTING TO DO ANY OF THE REPAIRS YOURSELF.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-06-2012, 07:02 PM
andrewbach's Avatar
andrewbach andrewbach is offline
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Winslow Az
Posts: 737
Default

Hes just trying to get a raise ,Oh i forgot mods don't get paid,well maybe they schuld


__________________
http://www.davidthecat.net/
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-06-2012, 08:34 PM
popeye67's Avatar
popeye67 popeye67 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North west England, just follow the smell of curry.
Posts: 6,038
Default

wouldn't dream of taking money i love doing it so much, but bagsy doing any reviews if computer manufacturers send us parts to review, cos i never give stuff back if your daft enough to hand it over its mine.

sorry that should have read it's MINE


__________________
Q6600-P5K Premium+Alphacool w/blocks
EVGA 8800gt+Koolance w/block
Samsung f1 raid0 +f2 hard drives
Enermax infinity 650w

Popeye67's Blog
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:07 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
CRMC
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2 ©2009, Crawlability, Inc.