Computer Repair

CRMC - 5 Day Trial
 
Security and Malware Issues A place to talk about System Security and Malware removal.

Reply
  #1  
Old 03-21-2012, 06:09 PM
MElawe MElawe is offline
Restored Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 169
Default Searchnu(Searchqu)

Do you guys know anything about this thing called searchnu, formerly searchqu? It set the homepage of all browsers to searchnu.om/406 or something similar. There is no malware, but I don't like a program doing that, so I thought I'd ask here.


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2012, 08:00 PM
popeye67's Avatar
popeye67 popeye67 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North west England, just follow the smell of curry.
Posts: 6,038
Default

only thing i know about it is what i just googled, couldnt find anything apart from it being malware and how to get rid of it, best avoided.


__________________
Q6600-P5K Premium+Alphacool w/blocks
EVGA 8800gt+Koolance w/block
Samsung f1 raid0 +f2 hard drives
Enermax infinity 650w

Popeye67's Blog
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2012, 02:58 PM
SearchnuSupport SearchnuSupport is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Default Searchnu

Hello,

I'm a member of the Searchnu support team, and i'm here to assist!

From the URL you provided it looks like Searchnu was installed on your PC when you installed iLivid- a download manager which includes Searchnu as an option.

When you downloaded and installed a free application, Searchמu was offered to you by one of our partners that develop free PC applications. During the installation you accepted the homepage changes. In any time you can restore your previous homepage back.

Please visit iLivid's support section where you will find detailed instructions for uninstalling Searchnu, at:iLivid Download Manager - Frequently Asked Questions - ilivid.com

Please let us know if you need any further assistance.

Thank you,
The Searchnu support team


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2012, 06:49 PM
busdriver72's Avatar
busdriver72 busdriver72 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,503
Default

Okay, that makes sense. You have to be careful downloading things off of the web. Hidden within the program you want may be something you do not want. I have caught things that want to download toolbars, searchbars and other stuff. You have to watch closely nowadays.


__________________

AKA "Sir Flippant"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2012, 02:47 PM
andrewbach's Avatar
andrewbach andrewbach is offline
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Winslow Az
Posts: 737
Default

It seams like every time i try to dowload somthing of the web it allways has a bunch of garbage it wants you to install.


__________________
http://www.davidthecat.net/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-27-2012, 10:55 AM
MElawe MElawe is offline
Restored Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SearchnuSupport View Post
Hello,

I'm a member of the Searchnu support team, and i'm here to assist!

From the URL you provided it looks like Searchnu was installed on your PC when you installed iLivid- a download manager which includes Searchnu as an option.

When you downloaded and installed a free application, Searchמu was offered to you by one of our partners that develop free PC applications. During the installation you accepted the homepage changes. In any time you can restore your previous homepage back.

Please visit iLivid's support section where you will find detailed instructions for uninstalling Searchnu, at:iLivid Download Manager - Frequently Asked Questions - ilivid.com

Please let us know if you need any further assistance.

Thank you,
The Searchnu support team
First of all thanks for taking the time to help. Second, there is no option to install or not install Searchqu when installing ilivid. Third the internet settings were changed so all browsers home page is changed to searchnu.com. And when changed back to the google.com it would revert back to searchnu.com the next time you log in. Also it even when the FireFox/IE addon toolbar is disabled, searchnu.com still monitors the users homepage; and maybe other things as well.

Its behavior leads me to believe it is some type of malware. Also I have seen this exact post on other forums, does my question get asked often?

Quote:
Originally Posted by busdriver72 View Post
Okay, that makes sense. You have to be careful downloading things off of the web. Hidden within the program you want may be something you do not want. I have caught things that want to download toolbars, searchbars and other stuff. You have to watch closely nowadays.
There was no option to install it or uninstall it, it just came when it did. I never do the express installs so I'm sure it wasn't there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewbach View Post
It seams like every time i try to dowload somthing of the web it allways has a bunch of garbage it wants you to install.
Yea, thats why I always go custom.


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-27-2012, 01:06 PM
popeye67's Avatar
popeye67 popeye67 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North west England, just follow the smell of curry.
Posts: 6,038
Default

theres probably an option to remove it in uninstall programs seperate from iLivid or in the start up tab of msconfig


__________________
Q6600-P5K Premium+Alphacool w/blocks
EVGA 8800gt+Koolance w/block
Samsung f1 raid0 +f2 hard drives
Enermax infinity 650w

Popeye67's Blog
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-28-2012, 06:36 AM
MElawe MElawe is offline
Restored Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by popeye67 View Post
theres probably an option to remove it in uninstall programs seperate from iLivid or in the start up tab of msconfig
I had no problem uninstalling it, it showed up in ASC's uninstaller. Though, I still think it is fishy, moderates the user to much.


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-28-2012, 01:51 PM
popeye67's Avatar
popeye67 popeye67 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North west England, just follow the smell of curry.
Posts: 6,038
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MElawe View Post
I had no problem uninstalling it, it showed up in ASC's uninstaller. Though, I still think it is fishy, moderates the user to much.
i wouldnt have it on my computer


__________________
Q6600-P5K Premium+Alphacool w/blocks
EVGA 8800gt+Koolance w/block
Samsung f1 raid0 +f2 hard drives
Enermax infinity 650w

Popeye67's Blog
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-28-2012, 09:34 PM
busdriver72's Avatar
busdriver72 busdriver72 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,503
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MElawe View Post
I had no problem uninstalling it, it showed up in ASC's uninstaller. Though, I still think it is fishy, moderates the user to much.
That is very true.
Say, Searchnusupport, it appears that while installing software a person wants there are things buried in it that they do not want. Yes, it is probably buried, mixed in the netherworld of the terms of use and the user's agreement in the hope and expectation the user will be oblivious to its presence. That is a very common tactic that less reputable companies use to look for ways to take advantage of users. News about tactics like this will spread fast over the internet via fourms and other websites and users will lose confidence and trust in the product.
We hope that this will change for your product if you have the desire to be thought of as honest and reputable.


__________________

AKA "Sir Flippant"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:52 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
CRMC
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2 ©2009, Crawlability, Inc.